Start a new topic

Wifi firmware upgrade walkthrough needed

I just recently discovered that there has been a great deal of development done for v2 of the Wifi firmware, and I'd like to upgrade mine.  However, I'm running into problems (probably due to the fact that I'm not a programmer and don't have a lot of  knowledge of flashing firmware to things, etc.). Can someone point me in the direction of how to update the Wifi firmware from v1 to current?  I've searched and tried to figure it out myself with no luck.  I'm using a Sparkfun 3.3v FTDI adapter to connect to the Huzzah.

- I see that there are precompiled .bin files in the GitHub, including a note (back for v2.4.0) that "Upgrade from V1 and V2.x should be possible by uploading the .bin via the web interface" - I'm not aware of and can't find any web interface in v1 other than the RAPI command page and SSID/etc. entry page, although I see from screenshots of v2 that it should be easy to update further once I've got v2 uploaded.

- I tried following the instructions in the Readme for the Arduino IDE (which I have very limited experience with).  I could not figure/find out how to upload the precompiled binary, so I tried using the source code instead, but the IDE throws an error upon compile/upload: "failed MSpanList_Insert 0x30b000 0x8188878da59c 0x0  fatal error: MSpanList_Insert" (with additional output that I can copy in, if it would help).

I'd appreciate if anyone could provide some more detail for how to get the Wifi module from v1 to v2.  Thanks.

Update: I figured it out.  After a lot of hunting and further research I ended up using command line tools to upload the precompiled binary per Adafruit's instructions for the Huzzah using esptool.py

My process before getting to the command line, in case it might help somebody in the future: