Start a new topic

Temperature Throttling Thresholds

I have been testing increased Temperature thresholds for a few months, I added 10C to each setting. I would like to purpose setting the default throttling to start at 62C. This plus the option to disable in the latest development releases would provide a better experience and still provide the safety of shutdown during abnormal events. And allow the user to disable when charging can be monitored.

Here is 5 days of data charging at 40A. Daily temperatures for the period were 100F. I did experience throttling to 50% on the first and last day, but I think that it was the appropriate time to limit. Fully charging was achieved both days. Charging at 32A or less has not caused any throttling even on days that were 110+.

The configuration I am using is the v5 openEVSE with stock 50A relay and 40A J1772 service cable ordered in December 2018 which matches the referenced hardware. I believe this unit only has the built in lcd temperature sensor which measures the internal temperature. The input cable is a 14-50 electric range service from Home Depot which should have a 50A rating which is similar to the referenced installation. The openEVSE box is mounted to an outside north facing cinderblock wall with metal screws since mid March of this year. I’ll add some additional photos of the installation for additional clues. The openEVSE has no modifications other than the updated Wifi firmware to 2.8.0 and the 4.8.0 evse released firmware.

Attached is a temperature rise graph at different current settings. The station is a stock v5 kit with a OpenEVSE NEMA 14-50 input cable and 40A J1772 cable. The blue line is the ambient temperature and red is the internal temperature. Grey is the output power.

The Temperature rise over the starting temperature for this configuration should be about:

Idle - about 2 - 3C (over ambient)

Charging 6A - 5C

Charging 12A - 6.5C

Charging 18A - 10C

Charging 24A - 13.5C

Charging 30A - 18.2C