Start a new topic

How to reset WiFi Password?

Newbie here.

I got as far as connecting the OpenEvse WiFi to my house router ... could see the system charging.  Yippee!

Then I must have done something wrong (not that I know what I did) because my web browser now can't get to the charger.  Browser says:

,/ Username

./ Password

I've tried admin / admin,   openevse / openevse , and a lot of combinations and other stuff.  Nada.

So how do I reset the WiFi module back to factory default?  

Thanks!   -Cliff

1 person has this problem

Saga continues:   With the programmer disconnected from the wifi board, the programmer's bright red led is always on, and a blue led flashes during while the esptool commands are being executed.

With the programmer connected to the wifi board, the programmer's bright red led is always on, but the blue led does not flash while the esptool commands are being executed.

In both cases, I get the same error message: 

Connecting........_____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____....._____

A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to Espressif device: Timed out waiting for packet header

The wifi board blue led flashes dimly about once a second.   A red led lights up brightly when the gpio0 button is pressed.  When the reset button is pressed at the same time as the GPIO0 button, the red led lights dimly.  

the "chip_id" command has the same result:

python esptool.py --port=/dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART -b 1500000 chip_id

Additional information: [7:30 to 8:30AM April 10]

On suggestion from https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/issues/370  

I have downloaded and installed Silicon Labs VCP Driver from 

https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers

This, of course, required security over-ride, since it was not a signed piece of software.

Now, after rebooting the macintosh, I can see:

Cliffs-iMac:esptool-2.3.1 cliff$ ls /dev/tty.*